Jason Frandi – A Victim Too?

If Jason’s father Ateo (Arthur) Frandi had been reported and convicted for sexually abusing his sister and his step children,  (and possibly others) would Dagmar Pytlickova have been murdered?

_________________________________________________________________

Source for article below: The Christchurch Press 31 May 2012 & Herald Sun 30 May 2012

><

Jason Frandi

>< Waimate police were looking for Jason Frandi the day before his body and that of a Czech hitchhiker tourist were found. Frandi had earlier been informed by a member of the public that a sexual allegation had been made against him and police were worried about what action he might take. The bodies of Frandi, 43, and Dagmar Pytlickova, a 31-year-old woman from the Czech Republic, were found in a rugged forest area near Waimate, on New Zealand’s South Island last  Sunday. It’s alleged that Frandi raped Pylickova before cutting her throat. It’s also alleged that Frandi had admitted 12 years earlier that he planned to rape a young woman and then kill himself. This is a pretty chilling scenario considering what happened at the weekend. Frandi was jailed for three and a half years in 2000 for abducting a 19-year-old Oamaru woman, with the intent of having sex with her.  Media reports at the time said the woman was pushing her bicycle down the street when Frandi forced her into his vehicle. Police praised a bystander who heard her screams and tried to intervene, grabbing the door handle then taking the registration number of the car as it sped off.  Despite his previous convictions, police weren’t keeping a specific eye on Frandi. Pytlickova, also known as Dasha, arrived in New Zealand in January and had been working at a Cromwell-area vineyard until recently, police said yesterday.  They said she left Cromwell on Saturday and was hitchhiking to the Timaru area when she was picked up by Frandi somewhere between Omarama and Kurow. His car was found parked among some trees near Waimate yesterday, and the hitchhiker’s back pack was found inside the car. ><

Czech Republic tourist, Dagmar Pytlickova

><

Police believe the pair walked from the car to the spot where their bodies were found by charity event riders, about 3km away. Empty alcoholic drink bottles were scattered around the scene.  Pytlickova’s mobile was turned off at 6.40pm.  Autopsies were conducted yesterday in Christchurch.

Frandi was known around the community as a man with a troubled past.  “I know he could be violent when he was drinking,” resident Annette Dungey, who had known him for many years, said.  “I know that because he told me himself.”

_______________________________________________________________________

See my essay   My Right To Write My Memoir is it right to expose inter-family abuse?

 

I found the above news item particularly disturbing in view of that fact that Jason Frandi  was a member  of my maternal extended family. I wrote a book  Whatever Happened To Ishtar?; A Passionate Quest To Find Answers For Generations Of Defeated Mothers’  (published 2010 and 2014) after interviewing descendants from the Lebanese and Italian branches of  my family tree, and perusing myriad documents.  In this post about Jason Frandi’s background, I am concentrating on the Italian branch.  During research for Ishtar? I discovered an Italian family history of abandonment, and sexual and physical abuse.

There were many reasons why I wrote ‘Ishtar?’ and although I started writing to exorcise past demons, among them to understand why my own mother, Doreen Frandi, abandoned me when I was an infant, it quickly developed into a far-reaching saga.  See  Letters to Anne Frandi-Coory

Jason Frandi  (43) was the son of Ateo (Arthur) Frandi, b. Wellington, 8 April 1934.  When I interviewed Arthur’s immediate family for my book, they told me that Arthur sexually assaulted his younger  sister in their family home when he was a  teenager.  The only reason the abuse stopped was because Arthur was caught abusing his sister by another brother. Consequently, no other family members knew of the abuse, and it was never reported to police. Following the failure of Arthur’s first marriage to Jason’s mother, Arthur married a woman who had four children from a previous relationship. The marriage broke up when his wife discovered he was a paedophile who had been molesting her children.  I have carefully contemplated this section of the Frandi family history and I wonder whether the rape and  murder of an innocent tourist, Dagmar Pytlickova, by Jason Frandi in May 2012 could have been prevented if his father had been brought to justice many years ago. It appears that Arthur was an abuser from a young age, and there is the possibility that there are many more of his victims out there who are yet to come forward.   It is also possible that Arthur sexually abused his own children, including Jason.

The Frandi family history seems to have taken a wrong turn when Jason’s ancestors, my great grandparents, Annunziata and Aristodemo Frandi fled Italy in 1875 and settled in the barren and wind-swept Okuru Settlement on the West Coast of the South Island of New Zealand.  I can’t know for absolute certainty, but according to the Frandi family, their life in Italy was privileged until  the aftermath of the Garibaldi uprising and Risorgimento (Unification). The environment  at Okuru was harsh with no medical facilities, no schools and a lack of food supplies. After persevering at a subsistence level for almost four years the family was moved to Wellington in the North Island, at the cost of the NZ government.  The three children Annunziata and Aristodemo brought with them from Italy were the stalwarts of the family, but later born siblings seemed to have been hewn from a different mould. During my research, I uncovered another paedophile within the family’s ranks, and I write about that extensively in my book.

My grandfather Alfredo Frandi was the youngest son of Annunziata and Aristodemo, and Arthur’s grandfather Francesco was their oldest son.   Francesco had three sons including William who was Arthur’s father.  I interviewed William’s middle son extensively, (Arthur was his oldest son) as well as his wife who told me that her husband had a violent ‘Frandi’ temper which terrified her and her children at times. He also had a severe speech impediment which he himself put down to very poor communication and his deep fear of speaking when he was a child.

This is a small window into the extended family my mother was born into; she witnessed horrendous violence toward her own mother at the hands of her father, Alfredo.  The question is, how much family violence is due to environment and how much is genetic? William Frandi  was abandoned by his mother when he was a toddler and he never really overcame his deprived childhood . She ran off with another man and later moved to Tasmania, and he never saw her again. He had a large extended family who did what they could for William, his two brothers and sister, but the damage was done. All four adult siblings were considered either ‘strange’ or ‘intellectually slow’. All had very troubled and unsettled early lives. According to William’s family, he was a man of very few words and barely spoke to his sons at all. He moved to Waimate soon after his marriage to escape the gossip about his mother.  William was too timid to approach a girl in person so he put an advertisement in the local paper, and eventually married a woman from England.

After writing Ishtar? I came to the conclusion that perhaps one of the best things that ever happened to me was that I was placed in an orphanage at ten months old, as traumatic as that turned out to be.  In my case, I hope it is nurture over nature.

><

Jason Frandi – He Was My Friend

23 comments
  1. frandi said:

    Hello Rob

    Nice to hear from you. When I began research for my book, ‘Whatever Happened To Ishtar?’ I had no idea the can of worms I was about to open. I saw some lovely photos of your family at Pam Frandi Parkhill’s house when I travelled to Wellington to interview her. Until then, I was unaware of the dysfunction throughout the Frandi family. Thank you for your comments on my blog, which I have now deleted as per your instructions. Take care, Anne.

    Like

  2. sm said:

    Really interesting read, how do you go about finding information on your own descendants and family backgrounds etc. I have a close connection to Jason’s family also and would really like to talk to you about some of these issues, any chance I could email you?

    Like

    • frandi said:

      As you can probably appreciate, I have been contacted by numerous people claiming to be connected to Jason’s family, so I wish to exercise caution when divulging my personal contact details or those of any other family members. Please feel free to comment further on my blog as many of Jason’s extended family subscribe to this blog.-Anne Frandi-Coory

      Like

      • Vicky Southgate said:

        About my post below to authenticate, Jason had a brother from knowledge Richard was his name, they played golf together and my husband James went with Jason to drop him off at the airport in Christchurch, I don’t know about any other family members as that was never bought up and we didnt pry, though I wish we had now. Jason was always very quiet and respectful around his father when he lived with him but would always be in his room when my husband went over. His son is the same age as ours and he was very proud to be a father and was always trying to find a trampoline for him everytime we saw him.
        Vicky

        Like

  3. Vicky Southgate said:

    Hi there,

    I was wondering if you are able to help me in anyway, Jason was a very good friend of ours and will always be remembered that way, Im having trouble getting over what has happened but can not find any family members that can tell me what has been done with him since his death? I have been told he was cremated and there is nothing on file for the Waimate cemetary? I can only think that maybe his brother may have handled this but have no idea of how to contact him? My husband has been friends with Jason since he was living with his father in Waimate and they were neighbours, and I met him in 2008. Can someone please contact me as it is eating away at me, I am extremely upset not knowing and can’t be at peace with this until I find out. Thank you

    Vicky
    Timaru

    Like

  4. frandi said:

    Vicky, thank you for your comment. Unfortunately, I have lost contact with many of Jason’s relatives since I wrote ‘Whatever Happened To Ishtar?’ largely because they were not happy with my expose about the Frandi family. However, I believe that future generations of the Frandi family deserve to know their family history, and that despite all the tragedies and brutality of the past, there are many good family stories to pass on and to inspire future generations. Regards, Anne Frandi-Coory

    Like

    • Kjs said:

      Jasons brother is Aaron, I don’t recall a Richard though. My daughter is his niece

      Like

  5. Grace Frandi said:

    Hello Anne,
    I think you are a very selfish person to put this out to public, I don’t think you have even considered how this has hurt Pam and the family and they in confidence have shared family matters with you.
    Lets say nothing had happened, then your little book would have meant nothing but this is certainly good advertising for you.
    There are probably many people in this world these things have happened within families and I’m sure they would not want the world to know.
    Yes it’s not nice that these things happen but they do and families do have do deal with it in their own family.
    I’m am very sorry for the victim in this circumstance as she was at the wrong place at the wrong time for sure and that
    Jason took someones life with him was the saddest thing.
    There is a real devil out there tricking many people into doing evil, thats why we need a real God to help us.
    If I were you I would reconsider what you are doing very carefully and the best thing you can do is pray for the family to help them through this time of sorrow.
    Grace Frandi

    Like

    • frandi said:

      Dear Grace

      When I wrote ‘Ishtar?’ I sent galley copies (first edition) to Pam to read before the publisher released the book for worldwide distribution. She asked for one paragraph to be omitted and I followed her instructions then emailed her the replacement paragraph. I have filed all documentation meticulously for anyone to peruse. Pam never at any stage told me not to publish the other information she passed on to me. Indeed, Pam was not the only family member to pass on family history; I had many sources and this was a good thing because all information could be verified before going to print. From what I have been told, if you are a descendent of Antonio and Yolande, you were lucky to have loving parents and grandparents – many in the Frandi extended family were not that lucky and they have a right to tell their stories.-Anne Frandi-Coory

      Like

    • Mark said:

      Hi

      I knew Jason many years ago and still have contact with people that knew him before this happened. I was a neighbor of his also. I do agree with what Anne has done here. I’m sorry Grace but if people are feeling ashamed then they have done shameful things. The point that you make about dealing with things in their own family does not mean keep them swept under the rug. The Jason I and my friends knew was a kind and humble man. I do not believe the evil in this started with Jason and I do believe the right circumstances Jason and Dagmar could have been saved here. This situation has been an awful tragedy. I as are my friends and friends of Jason’s are struggling to come to terms with what has happened here. I’m not for any reason defending Jason’s actions here, but I will defend his character while he is not able to, as will his friends alike. I’m deeply saddened by this tragedy. The evil here is keeping a lid on the issues which gives them grounds to fester and boil over. Too many times the lid is kept on something and it never leads to anything good. Thank you Anne for the insight, we all knew Jason was struggling with ghosts from the past and he had done the best he could with them by himself. There was also word around about what his father had been up to, god rest his soul.

      Liked by 1 person

      • frandi said:

        Thank you for your courage in writing the above comment, Mark. Many people have emailed me regarding the Jason they knew; a Jason that is at odds with his alleged murder of a hitchhiker. He seems to have had quite a few friends who thought a lot of him but who didn’t realise the full extent of his torment. – Regards, Anne Frandi-Coory

        Like

      • Vicky Southgate said:

        Mike – you may know James who was a good friend, and also a neighbour back in the day? I was wondering if you know what happened to him? We have asked around and kept an eye in the paper but all we know is his neighbour up the back of him, Im sure you know who I am talking about without naming names said it was going to be in the paper, we just want to know he was taken care of thoughtfully and if he has a specific resting place?

        Like

  6. frandi said:

    I actually thought that Rob was quite positive and gentle in his comments.- Anne Frandi-Coory

    Like

  7. Francesca Frandi said:

    Where can I buy your book from? I’m very interested in my Italian genealogy and would like to know more about our family.

    Like

  8. kim said:

    I was never going to read the articles about Frandi being a victim (as I had a pre-conceived idea that he never could be)but your blog came to my attention because it suggested your entire blog was going to be on the case. But it is so much more… Although Frandis actions are not something that can be justified on the face of law or society, and I completely am disgusted by them, I do see Frandi as a victim… its a shame he was so oppressed to seek help.

    Like

    • frandi said:

      Hi there Kim’ thanks for your comment. I agree with you, that not for one moment should Jason Frandi be excused for allegedly committing such a horrific crime against a helpless woman. However, some individuals who have been so brutalised themselves as children, may not know any other way of reacting in some situations. Knowing what I know about his background, one can see why his was a wasted life. Anne Frandi-Coory

      Like

  9. Tammy said:

    I was wondering if u could pass n my email address to Anne frandi i might beable to fill in some of the blanks to her story. Thank you.

    Like

    • Anne said:

      Please add your helpful information to these comments as it helps other members of our family tree to know more

      Like

  10. Mm said:

    Like to leave a message I have known Jason sense he was 12.what about the children he hurt before all this happened

    Like

    • Anne said:

      Thank you for your comment.
      No one is condoning Jason’s terrible actions. The point being made in the article was that all child abuse should be reported to police; firstly, to stop the abuse and protect children. Secondly, to ensure that the victims do not become future abusers.

      Like

  11. vicky said:

    hi im jasons step sister we all in the family had a bad time with jasons father he was a very evil barstard we were all victims our mother as well. What I wish is for people to stop all this so we all can move on with our lives yes it is sad for what Jason had done but please just let it go. The day I found out that jasons father had died I was so happy and hoped he died with a lot of pain.
    v

    Like

  12. Anne said:

    Believe me, Vicky, I understand your pain, but if members of the Frandi family had brought out into the open years ago that Jason’s father was a paedophile, then so many other children could have been protected. During my interviews with the Frandi extended family, it was clear that Jason’s father had sexually abused a close member of his own family while he was still living at his parents’ house as a teen. We will never know how many others he abused. We have to have zero tolerance for sexual abuse of children within institutions and families because if we don’t, we are not putting the rights of our children first and foremost! The consequences of not reporting abuse are dire and well documented. It is imperative that as soon as we learn that a child is being abused, the police are informed.

    When the uncle who abused me died, I too felt a huge sense of relief. His abuse of me was sexual and psychological, from the age of 10 until I left Dunedin at 18 yrs. I was lucky because his access to me was limited as I lived most of my childhood in institutions.

    Take care, Vicky 💖💗

    Like

Leave a Reply

